a warm and welcome place to share words and thoughts

I got a call from my daughter the other day in the middle of the afternoon, when she should have been hard at work and not calling to chitchat with me. Of course my motherly radar of doom and gloom kicked in as I picked up the phone and saw who was calling. My mind began to run through the endless litany of terrible events that must have happened to her. I tried to be the voice of calm and cheer as I answered the phone and said, “Hi! How are you?” I heard the big sigh and then her reply of, “Not good – I’m sick!” Hopefully she didn’t hear my sigh of relief at her dilemma; not happy that she was sick, but relieved that’s all it was. Oh, the crazy rationale of motherhood!

And the only reason she called, and really quite a heartwarming reason, was to get some good old-fashioned motherly sympathy for her plight of illness. Being recently married, she now has a husband who is there to take care of her and baby her during such times, but it is a mother’s compassion that seems to be the healing balm she wants when she is sick. That’s not to say that men are less effective in taking care of someone in the throes of an illness, but a mother’s touch, even hundreds of miles away, seems to be a special kind of remedy for whatever ails you.

We might think that when our children grow older and start to claim their independence that they will have less of a need for our wise parental guidance. But there are some things about being a mom that will never fade away, no matter what age my children are or how successful they become on their own. My daughter was able to take the reins very nicely and plan her whole wedding herself; my advice from across the country was asked for on occasion, but she really put the whole thing together on her own and did a fantastic job.

But when it comes to dealing with any sickness she may encounter, I am sure to get a phone call, looking for words of advice and words of comfort. It is those times I am reminded that my role as a parent may change throughout my children’s lifetimes, but I will always have the role of Mom, the best comforter of all.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

