a warm and welcome place to share words and thoughts

When I first started my blog and actually began to gather followers, I was so grateful, and I felt an obligation to follow each one of them in turn. And that was fine for a time, when the numbers were low. But things quickly spiraled out of control, and I found myself unable to keep up. Reading all the lovely blog posts started to take up much more time than I expected, and I found myself starting to resent having to read so much. How sad, because I love to read!

I tried spacing it out a bit, only reading a few here and there. But soon I found myself overwhelmed with so much in my inbox that I had times where I had to sweep it all away in a massive deleting. This broke my heart; callously clicking away others words without so much as a glance. So I decided that I needed to start being a bit more selective in the blogs I follow, so I could help my oversensitive self not panic by being inundated with so much information. Now that I follow a smaller number of blogs, I find I am relaxed and once more enjoying the world of blogging.

And as I look at the flip side of things, I notice that I actually have 77 followers now; yet if I’m lucky on a good day I might get 7 people who read and/or like my post. And that is perfectly fine, as I write for the joy of it, not the adoration. But I have to wonder if other bloggers have also amassed an unmanageable amount of blogs they follow. Like some kind of blogging fever that strikes when a blogger is fresh and new, excited and ready to take on all the wonderful offerings that are out there to read.

It all reminds me of days past, when people used to read magazines and actually subscribe to  them, having them sent to their homes. It used to be a common problem once upon a time; getting carried away with too many magazine subscriptions and never enough time to read them all. The solution for that problem was picking out only one or two that really merited interest and not renewing the rest.

Well now the same seems to hold true for the plethora of blogs available to read, and I find myself having to select a reasonable number that I can give quality time to reading. And as with all things in life, that is ever changing. As I un-follow some blogs, I find new ones that I want to follow – and I’m sure that the same is done with my blogs. Such is life, always full of change, and such is the reason that I am only a part-time reader of blogs.

Comments on: "When reading blogs becomes a full-time job, and why I had to go part-time" (2)

  1. Amen! I totally am with you on this….xoxo

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

