a warm and welcome place to share words and thoughts

Blogging, just because…

It’s time again to revisit the reason I started a blog in the first place, as I find myself pouting recently over the minute number of responses to my blogs – oh, get over it! is what I keep telling my overactive ego. I have fallen into the self-gratifying habit of checking and rechecking my site stats, poring over the numbers like a statistician and trying to figure out how to attract more readers. Maybe I should only publish posts during the week and not the weekends; seems like that’s when more people view my posts, during the week, and early on in the day, not later in the evening. Then I start to ponder, what do the people want? Obviously it isn’t always what I think is interesting or entertaining or enlightening. Otherwise I would have surely been on Freshly Pressed by now – and by the way, what does it take to earn that featured status? Oh, the sad manipulation, all to try and gain attention – just like a child.

I ask myself the most important question of all, why do I write in the first place? Is it to try and get somewhere, to an exalted place in the world of writing or blogging? Or maybe, just maybe, it is the real reason that I started writing – because I love to write! When I rediscovered the joy of playing with words, with having thoughts come to me in a poem or a musing or a short story, I found a part in me that had been hidden for so long. I found that I am creative! And I found the most enjoyable outlet for my creative juices, the art of writing.

And really, I do this thing, writing, because it is a kick to create something. I often find myself reading my poems and stories over and over, and I love them! And I have to know that even if I only connect with one solitary soul as I write my blog posts, then I have done a great thing in reaching that soul. We don’t have to do such grandiose acts of connecting with one another to affect joy and inspiration in our fellow human beings. Sometimes we can touch others in ways that we may never know. My words are out there, the energy behind them is out there, and that is the key to why I blog. Holding back what I have to give in lieu of attention getting defeats the whole purpose. Reaching in and letting myself create, and then sharing that creativity is what this blog is all about, no matter if one person reads it or no one at all.

Comments on: "Blogging, just because…" (4)

  1. i fought the same battle much often as like you. Blogging tend to take us to the greed of getting to more and more readers and perhaps earn some recognition in return. But as i ponder over the question just like you, i found out that instead of my diary i wanted to have a e-copy where i can save my words for times to come, to know and feel again, how i used to be when i was approaching my 30, and then compare can i be as passionate towards writing , as i am now. Reading along with writing, gives us this immense opportunity to learn from other people’s experience, and i hereby would like to thank you for throwing this question (through this blog) on to me, to ponder and analyze in my mind. Many Thanks… šŸ™‚

  2. Melanie's Musings said:

    I know exactly what you mean. Write for yourself and be sure many are listening šŸ˜‰ It’s an open diary and it’s good for the soul, the higher soul, and all. Keep going…. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

