a warm and welcome place to share words and thoughts

I feel a kinship with these birds, the ones so many proclaim as “dirty”, my avian friends that seem to love the city life as much as I do. Most people call them pigeons, but I prefer to call them by the more lovely nom de plume of doves. The word dove conjures up images of peace and serenity, and this is what they bring to me as I hear them cooing outside my window and up on the roof. They are much shyer than the crows, with their loud and raucous caws, bold enough to walk across my skylight and look in on me. The lovely doves are hesitant about presenting themselves; gingerly stepping onto the skylight almost as if it were a dare. In the early morning I hear them fly about with harried activity, as their wings whistle while they fly from building to building. Sometimes they land on my windowsill for a brief rest, but they are much too introverted to respond to my attempts at conversation. So I listen carefully to their silent message of peace, and rejoice every morning as I wake to their gentle songs.

Shadows of the doves

Their beating wings spreading peace

Cooing songs of love

Comments on: "Some call them pigeons, I call them doves" (2)

  1. Funny, I feel a kinship with chickens but perhaps the feeling is similar to yours πŸ˜‰ Birds have a certain otherworldliness…

    Scary, I thought I was on my own blog since we use the same theme… I was like, I did not post this post! How did that happen?!

  2. I also feel that connection with chickens, and had my kitchen decorated in chicken decor for a time πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

