a warm and welcome place to share words and thoughts

Back in the saddle

After stepping back from prompt writing for a time, I decided to give it a go again, writing from this week’s prompt on the 100 Word Challenge from the wonderful blog, Julia’s Place. The prompt this time was “the flame flickered before” and here is my offering….

A love song

     I knew of him, I dreamt of him; the flame flickered before I ever heard his name or saw his face. In my dreams he would sing to me, my troubadour of love. For what seemed like an eternity he was just a fairy tale; my prince who would come to rescue his princess from a life of imprisonment, lonely like Rapunzel in the tower. Then one day I heard him sing, the dream came true. It was my love, singing to me – and my heart heard him – the flame of eternal love now burns bright.

Comments on: "Back in the saddle" (30)

  1. That was an excellent post. Very nice writing style. Thanks so much for sharing. I really enjoyed it very much

    Enjoy Writing? Join us today.

    Writing Jobs Available

  2. Not a dream but a premonition of things to come, perhaps a soul mate. 🙂

  3. I LOVE this piece!

  4. Very romantic. No-one ever sang to me. 😦 Nice one.

  5. Now she’s a lucky lady …. will he live up to her dreams?

  6. jabbersville said:

    How gorgeous to meet someone who could sing :0)

  7. I wonder how she was imprisoned – just in her thoughts, maybe? But then she’ll probably end by feeling that his love imprisons her. 😦

  8. This is a beautiful piece. Proper romance 🙂

  9. thoughtful piece…processing love is not an easy task! nicely done.

  10. Aww such romance, simply beautiful x

  11. Wonderfully romantic!

  12. Candle seem to have a romance to them. You did a wonderful write here. Your approach to the challenge is fabulous.
    Nicely done,
    Isadora http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2012/05/25/the-flame-flickered/

  13. Cool. This one sang to me. 🙂

  14. Oh how romantic! Lovely 🙂

  15. You are so fortunate to have your “dream” come true! (It shows you were connected, long before you met in person – so romantic! 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

