a warm and welcome place to share words and thoughts

Emotional energies

I’ve been reading a wonderful book by Melody Beattie entitled Finding Your Way Home. This morning I read a chapter about emotions and dealing with them in a soulful way. And there was an exercise that consisted of picking out an emotional trigger from a very long list and journaling about it. The one that spoke to me was grief, but instead of journaling about it I found a poem coming through instead. As I see it, grief is a never ending journey; one with many twists and turns, shifting and changing as we deal with the often painful certainty of death in our lives here on earth.

An Arrangement

Grief and I

Have an arrangement now

I allow it to visit

But not so often anymore

And visitation time

Is much shorter than before

So we shake hands

And both agree

To this new arrangement

Comments on: "Emotional energies" (11)

  1. I remember that step. I had to make it a few times before it stuck. Wonderful poem.

    • Thank you so much for visiting and your kind words. Never easy to write about but it does help. I enjoyed reading some of your poems and am now following – you write wonderful poetry.

  2. This eclipse is bringing up alot of emotions for humans to look at, the energy right now is really good for releasing what needs to go at this time for your growth. Love the poem….xoxo

    • Thank you and glad you liked my poem. As of late the words don’t come as often – having a bit of writer’s block but I know how to weather it without panicking like I used to. And yes this eclipse energy has been interesting as of late πŸ™‚ I am doing lots of inner work in order to best bring the new energy in – it really is an exciting time!

  3. Eloquent and wise poem – “shaking hands” with grief… we do need to experience our sorrow, in order to transmute it (as Eckhart Tolle says of the “pain body”). Thank you for this.

  4. It takes a while to get to that place of an arrangement with grief in some instances, doesn’t it? And sometimes grief drops by as an unwelcome, unbidden visitor…or stays as long as a relative that is difficult to oust. One does seem to reach a point of needing to come to an arrangement with grief, though, in order to not allow grief to always have the upper hand. Great poem…love the visualization.

    • Rebecca I love your understanding of how crazy grief can be – it is not an easy subject to pin down, we just deal with it as it comes and hope it evens out a bit at some point. Thanks for your kind words about my poem πŸ™‚

  5. What a wonderful perspective and so in tune with how we should handle grief! Thank you! πŸ™‚
    Lauren

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

