a warm and welcome place to share words and thoughts

Change of scenery

Usually when I read or write I prefer the quiet confines of my home. But there are those times when I just want to, need to get out of the house and immerse myself in the cacophony of people and places. And one of my favorite places is only a block away, a small local coffeehouse, with a vibe that calls to me at times. I can find myself becoming lost in a good book while the conversation and music swirls all around me, and sometimes I have to reach for pen and paper to write down thoughts that filter through it all. I never want to define myself as having to do this or that as a writer; sometimes I find I need a change of scenery in order to find my muse.

Running Away from Home

 

I slipped out

Through the open door

Down the hallway

Down the stairs

Down the street

 

I slipped through

The unlocked door

Of the coffeehouse

 

The place where some come

To meet and mingle

Others sit solitary

At a table

Under a canopy of hipster music

We are draped in coffee smells

Balancing bodies on tiny wooden chairs

 

I read pages out of a book

Then I glance at the street scene

People walking

People walking dogs

The espresso machine sounds angry

Clanging and hissing as it labors away

I scribble random words on the paper

A swirl of the coffee cup

A last swallow of the caramel coffee

 

Then I decide

I don’t want to run away from home

And I retrace my steps

 

 

Comments on: "Change of scenery" (4)

  1. Boy, can I relate to all aspects of this poem. From the wanting to get away to the moment in the coffee shop when the expresso machine is angrily whirring and there’s just too many people to read if you really want to read. Good work.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

