a warm and welcome place to share words and thoughts

Kindergarten woes

Enter in another 100 word challenge, this time a challenge with just one simple word – Wednesday. Once more I tip my hat to a very entertaining blog, Julia’s Place, who always gets us writing and thinking about the wonderful world of words!

What a strange language we speak

     Dr. Suess didn’t warn me.  He taught me all about hop on pop, red fish and blue fish, green eggs and ham. But he failed to teach me how to read all those non-phonetic words, words like Wednesday, which to my kindergarten mind  should have been pronounced just like it looks: Wed – nes – day! I recall the horror of hearing my lovely teacher mispronounce that day of the week, and even more horror when I learned she was pronouncing it correctly! So I learned at an early age, the English language is a trickster.

Comments on: "Kindergarten woes" (19)

  1. Hilarous! I find it so funny how we remember things like that out of ALL the stuff that has happened in our lives. 🙂

  2. ivanlabayne said:

    And beyond phonetics, the English language, and any language for that matter, is a riddle. We thought we’re making ourselves clear only to find out that people totally misunderstood us; we intended to be satirical but people interpret us as offensive. Why does language lacks? It just is, because significations are just that — representations. But let us keep blurting anyway. 🙂

    • Languages can be fascinating, as words can be expressed so differently in so many ways, in each unique language – kind of like the 50 words for snow in the Inuit language – although even that is claimed to be myth!

  3. If only all words were phonetic. Wood that make life enny easyer for children to lern to read, rite and spell? I wunder. In the meentime, muddels wiv wurdz will keep on hapning!
    Great post 🙂

  4. Him Up North said:

    So, so true! The strangest of words. Great piece. 🙂

  5. This was fun. I still mispronounce the word in my head now – a leftover from learning how to spell it.

  6. I absolutely relate to this! I learned to read very early, but hated spelling tests, and would always mentally pronounce it like it’s spelled in order to remember. It made no sense to me, still doesn’t. 😉

  7. A nice take on the prompt. And isn’t English a bummer! i was only thinking yesterday how hard it must be for foreign students! Take home, come, or tomb and comb – you’d think they’d have similar rules re pronunciation! Oh, no, no, no…
    This sounded like a real life experience!

  8. Tell me about it. My 8yo self read Towards More Pictureskew Speech in The Readers’ Digest and I still think of pictureskew when I see the word picutesque. That same edition also had How To Enrick Your Wordpower. I don’t know why I read that one wrong as I certainly knew how to pronounce ch.

  9. *picturesque (and I proofread).

  10. It certainly is and there are SO many examples! Thank for pointing one out and joining in with this silliness each week! 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

